top of page


The 47th World Congress of Surgery 2017 was a landmark event in the field of surgery. Almost 1,800 participants came together to exchange science and advance the field through the dissemination of knowledge. The event also facilitated the exchange of ideas on a formal and informal basis, enabling the advancement of patient care. 

Congress President


Andrew G. Hill - New Zealand

President ISS/SIC, Congress President

Congress Vice Presidents

Linos Dimitrios.jpg

Dimitrios Linos - Greece


Joshipura Manjul.jpg

Manjul K. Joshipura - India


Lobo Dileep.jpg

Dileep Lobo - United Kingdom


Yip Cheng-Har.png

Cheng-Har Yip - Malaysia


Young-Fadok Tonia.jpg

Tonia M. Young-Fadok - USA


Bickler Stephen.jpg

Stephen W. Bickler - USA


Pasnik Krzysztof.jpg

Krzysztof Paśnik - Warzawa

APS (Association of Polish Surgeons)

Scientific Committees

Local Organizing Committee

International Society of Surgery (ISS)

Société Internationale de Chirurgie (SIC)


Andrew G. Hill - Auckland, NZ

President ISS/SIC, Congress President

Hunter John.jpg

John Hunter - Portland OR, US

President elect ISS/SIC


Marco G. Patti - Chapel Hill NC, US

Past President ISS/SIC

Boffard NEW.png

Kenneth D. Boffard - Johannesburg, SA

Secretary General ISS/SIC


Anders O. Bergenfelz - Lund, SE

General Treasurer ISS/SIC


Julie Ann Sosa - San Francisco, US

Editor in Chief WJS

Abdullah Hisham.jpg

Hisham Abdullah, Putrajaya, MY

Councilor ISS/SIC

Braghetto Italo.jpg

Italo Braghetto, Santiago de Chile, CL

Councilor ISS/SIC


Seigo Kitano, Yufu, JP

Councilor ISS/SIC


Rowan W. Parks, Edinburgh, UK

Councilor ISS/SIC


Gerard M. Doherty, Boston, USA

IAES Representative

Endocrine Surgery


Christine Gaarder, Oslo, NO

IATSIC Representative

Trauma Surgery


Takashi Higashiguchi, Mie, JP

IASMEN Representative

Metabolism and Nutrition


Omar Z. Youssef, Cairo, EG

BSI Representative

Breast Surgery


Hiroyuki Konno, Shizuoka, JP

ISDS Representative

Digestive Surgery


Kathleen M. Casey, New Port, US

ASAP Representative


Dziki Adam.jpg

Adam Dziki graduated in Medical Academy from Lodz, where he started his career and works to this day. He is professor of surgery and chairman of the Department of General and Colorectal Surgery. Discover more

Adam Dziki - Łódź (LOC President)

Pasnik Krzysztof.jpg

President of the Polish Surgical Society, Krzysztof Paśnik, has a PhD in medical sciences, and has been the Head of the Department of General, Oncological, Metabolic and Thoracochirurgical Surgery since 2007. Discover more

Krzysztof Paśnik - Warszawa

Banasiewicz Tomasz.jpg

Tomasz Banasiewicz graduated from Medical University in Poznan in 1994. He is currently Head of Department of General, Endocrynological Surgery and Gastrointestinal Oncology (since 2016). Discover more

Tomasz Banasiewicz - Poznań

Barczynski Marcin.jpg

Marcin Barczyński is a specialist in general and oncological surgery, with a European sub-specialisation in endocrine surgery. Discover more

Marcin Barczyński – Kraków

Budzynski Andrzej.jpg

Andrzej Budzynski has been working at the "Red Surgery" since 1990. Since the introduction of laparoscopic technique in 1992, he has been a member of the team headed by Prof. Andrzej Bobrzyński. Discover more

Andrzej Budzyński - Kraków

Dobosz Marek.png

Marek Dobosz is a graduate of the Faculty of Medicine at the Medical University of Gdańsk. Discover more

Marek Dobosz - Gdańsk

Jackowski Marek_edited.jpg

Marek Jackowski graduated from the Medical University of Gdansk in 1975. He completed his second degree of specialization in general surgery in 1982. Discover more

Marek Jackowski - Toruń

Wojciech Kielan.jpg

Kielan Wojciech received his scientific title of professor of medical sciences in 2002. This lifelong title was awarded by the President of the Republic of Poland. Discover more

Wojciech Kielan - Wrocław

Klek Stanislaw.jpg

Stanislaw Klek studied at Jagiellonian University Medical College in Krakow (1991-1997), where he also obtained a PhD in 2003. Discover more

Stanisław Kłęk - Kraków

Zbigniew Lorenc.jpg

Lorenc Zbigniew graduated in 1985 from the Medical University of Silesia in Katowice. In 1991 he became a specialist in general surgery. Discover more

Zbigniew Lorenc - Katowice

Matyja Andrzej.jpg

Andrzej Matyja is curently the Chair of the 2nd Department of General Surgery of the Jagiellonian University in Krakow. Discover more

Andrzej Matyja - Kraków

Michalik Maciej.jpg

Maciej Michalik graduated from the Faculty of Medicine of the Medical Academy in Gdańsk in 1984. He obtained his surgical specialization in 1991, and a doctorate supervised by Prof. Trenker from Gdańsk in 1993. Discover more

Maciej Michalik - Olsztyn

Richter Piotr.jpg

Piotr Richter is a graduate of the University of Medicine in Krakow.

Piotr Richter - Kraków

Tarnowski Wieslaw.jpg

Wiesław Tarnowski is a graduate of the First Faculty of Medicine at the Medical University of Warsaw. Discover more

Wiesław Tarnowski - Warszawa

Wallner Grzegorz.jpg

Grzegorz Wallner received his medical doctor's degree (with distinction) in 1978. He holds a full professor title at the Medical University of Lublin in 2005. Discover more

Grzegorz Wallner - Lublin

Zieniewicz Krzysztof_edited.jpg

Krzysztof Zieniewicz graduated from the Medical University of Warsaw, Poland. He is currently Chairman of the Department of General, Transplant & Liver Surgery at the Medical University of Warsaw. Discover more

Krzysztof Zieniewicz - Warszawa

Integrated Societies of ISS/SIC and their Representatives in the Program Committee


IAES - International Association of Endocrine Surgeons

Janice L. Pasieka, Canada

Gerard M. Doherty, USA

Logo IATSIC.jpg

IATSIC - International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care

Christine Gaarder, Norway


IASMEN - International Association for Surgical Metabolism and Nutrition

Steven E. Wolf, USA

Takashi Higashiguchi, Japan

Logo BSI.jpg

BSI - Breast Surgery International

Sharon Wing Wai Chan, Hong Kong

Omar Youssef, Egypt


ISDS - International Society for Digestive Surgery

Alessandro Fichera, USA

Hiroyuki Konno, Japan


ASAP - Alliance for Surgery and Anesthesia Presence

Russel Gruen, Singapore

Kathleen M. Casey, USA

Participating Societies and their Representatives in the Program Committee

Logo AAS.jpg

AAS Association for Academic Surgery

Melina R. Kibbe, USA / Adil H. Haider, USA

Logo AAST.png

AAST American Association for the Surgery of Trauma

Michael F. Rotondo, USA

Logo ACS.jpg

ACS American College of Surgeons

Peter Angelos, USA / Kathleen M. Casey, USA

Logo APMSF.jpg

APIMSF The Ambroise Paré International

Military Surgery Forum

Kenan Yusif-zade , Azerbaijan / Norman M. Rich, USA

Logo AWS.jpg

AWS Association of Women Surgeons

Christine Laronga, USA

Logo FELAC.jpg

FELAC Federación Latinoamericana de Cirugía

Italo Braghetto, Chile / Natan Zundel, Colombia

Logo IASSS.jpg

IASSS International Association of Student Surgical Societies

Sulé Burger, South Africa / Alex Scott, South Africa

Logo ISBI.jpg

ISBI International Society for Burn Injuries

David N. Herndon, USA / Basil A. Pruitt Jr., USA

Scientific Secretariat WCS 2019
Seefeldstrasse 88, 8008 Zurich, Switzerland
Phone: +41 44 533 76 50
Fax: +41 44 533 76 59

Congress Secretariat and Logistics WCS 2019
c/o MCI Geneva Office
9, rue du Pré-Bouvier, 1242, Satigny, Geneva, Switzerland
Phone: +41 22 33 99 596
Registration/Hotel enquiries,


bottom of page